Gurukul offers Graduate, Postgraduate and Doctoral Research full-time programmes recognised by the Senate of Serampore College (University).

Bachelor of Divinity (BD)

The Bachelor of Divinity (BD) (full-time) Degree course is of four years duration with courses stipulated by the Senate of Serampore College (University) as well as other special courses offered by Gurukul reflecting the nature of the ‘Towards Bold Theological Vision’ and in order to make theological education holistic and contextual.

Master of Theology (M.Th.)

The Master of Theology (M.Th.) (full-time) Degree course is of two years duration, and in the current academic session, Gurukul is offering M.Th. programme in the disciplines of Old Testament, New Testament, Christian Theology, History of Christianity, Religion Missiology, and Communication.

Doctor of Theology (D.Th.)

The Doctor of Theology (D.Th.) (full-time) which is a compulsory three-year residential programme is oriented towards research. At present, the Doctoral candidates are pursuing their research in the Departments of Christian Theology, Religion, Missiology, Communication, Women’s Studies and Social Analysis.

Besides the regular residential Academic programmes, Gurukul is offering  Diploma, Bachelor & Master of Christian Studies. 

Diploma, Certificates and Prizes

Gurukul conducts examinations at the end of each term, while the Senate has its examinations at the end of each Academic Year at two levels – Internal assessment and a written examination, examined by both the internal and external examiners. On the recommendation of the Staff Council, Gurukul Diplomas and Certificates are awarded to students on completion of all the requirements of the College by the Gurukul College Council. Degree Certificates are awarded by the Senate of Serampore College at the annual Convocation, which is normally held in February every year. The College Academic prizes for all branches of study have been instituted by Friends of Gurukul, where there are Departmental prizes and two special prizes for M.Th. Students and 24 Departmental prizes and two special prizes for BD Students.